Painting for the Weekend

It’s 9:15pm and Jason just had to practically force me to stop painting. I am not someone who enjoys painting, despite the frequency in which I do decide that painting is necessary. After painting the doors white last month, I swore that I would not voluntarily start another painting project in this house (I still have to finish painting the upstairs room… That room will be the death of me with its wood paneling that is impossible to cover up) & yet here I am, freakishly excited for another painting project.

Jason & I are Home Depot people — I used to be a Lowe’s person, but the combination of the employees at our local Lowe’s store being rude as hell combined with the tried and true knowledge that Behr Ultra paint blow Valspar’s paint out of the water was enough to convert me — so we headed to Home Depot on the way home from work today & quickly procured 3 gallons of Behr Ultra interior eggshell paint in Benjamin Moore’s Cotswold (thank you, Home Depot color matching & the color selector thingy that somehow landed in my possession over the years), roller covers (the ones marked “best” because we’re not messing around), a second paintbrush so Jason can assist with this project, paint tray covers and tarps. The damage? $134. Thankfully we returned some extra flooring we had from our kitchen flooring project so it set us back $100 in store credit & $34 in “real” money.

20140213-212542.jpg
As is typical of me, I had not patience and insisted on doing a small test wall immediately upon getting home. This became 5 small test walls, the hallways and three quarter walls over 2-3 hours. Why? I swear it’s because of the good paintbrush and roller we got. For whatever reason, painting is easy this time & the paint is showing up so well after just one coat (I told you, I love Behr Ultra paint!). I honestly think Jason & I will be able to,get the first coat on the rest of the walls tomorrow & then we’ll be able to do the second/final coat on Saturday. I can’t wait to see the difference when it’s all done!

20140213-213728.jpg

20140213-213733.jpg

Leave a comment